ज्ञानं शीलं धर्मश्चैव भूषणं - The Real Ornaments are Knowledge, Modesty and Sense of Duty.”
Accredited with Grade 'A' by NAAC
Physics Department was established in the year 1990 in Kalindi College. Dr. Rama Sarkari, Dr. Rachna Kumar and Dr. Pushpa Bindal are the founder members of the Physics Department. Dr. Seema Gupta and Dr. Sudha Gulati joined in 1994, Dr. Savita Roy joined in 1997. Dr. Monika Bassi and Dr. Punita Verma joined in 2006.  Dr. Savita Roy is on lien since the past one year and has joined Daulat Ram College as Principal.  There are 7 teachers on adhoc appointment in the department. This well qualified and dedicated teaching faculty is the asset of department which is fully devoted to raise the standards of academic achievements of our students. Three teachers of the department, Dr Savita Roy, Dr Monica Bassi, Dr Rachana Kumar have been conferred “Award for College Lecture” by Delhi Government.
Physics department caters to B.Sc. Physics (H) and B.Sc. Physical Science. The Department has fully equipped laboratories and a store room managed by a hard-working and sincere Lab Staff of 8 members. There are two big laboratories; one is for mechanics, electricity and thermal experiments and the other for electronics experiments. Initially the dark room lab for optics experiments was installed in the Barracks. Later it was shifted to science block for which the department designed a detailed blueprint to make optimum use of the available space. A semi dark room is also there for Ballistic Galvanometer experiments. The separate computer lab is very helpful for the students to analyze their data and doing projects. All the labs were developed by the collective efforts of the entire Physics Department under the guidance and support of the then Principals. Initially the department was having huge wooden tables which were then partitioned at the top to create more space to accommodate more students.Tables of dark room were also designed in such a way that all four sides could be used. Lecture Room No.2 was also partitioned to create lab space for Laser, Thermal and Fiber Optics experiments.
Physics Department is continuously upgrading itself according to changing curriculum and needs of the time from Annual to Semester to CBCS system.  Despite limitations of resources, the collective efforts of students, lab staff and teachers have delivered wonderful results with continual increase in the number of students scoring 90% and above in papers.  To encourage their efforts, various prizes like Ram Gopal Joshi Memorial Prize, Shanti Devi Bhatnagar Memorial Prize, Ram Murthy Gupta Memorial Prize, Ankur Memorial Prize, Shiv Paul Goel Memorial Prize, Asha Arora Memorial Prize etc. have been instituted for Physics/Physical Science students.
Physics Department is proud of its achievements in another way: a noteworthy recognition of its faculty’s outstanding original thinking in the field of research. The University of Delhi selected and approved an  ‘Innovative Project’ (2012-13) submitted by Dr. Savita Roy and Dr. Punita Verma as principal investigators along with a team of 10 students who are working on this innovative project titled: “Conversion of Mechanical Energy to Electrical Energy in Delhi Metros”. Further, this project has been extended. The main thrust of the research would now be “Feasibility of Installing Micro-Turbines in Metros’. The progress of the project is satisfactory and its innovative thrust is widely appreciated in scientists’ circles and media. There are several other research projects in which the students are actively participating.
In the past, the department has organized a two-day UGC funded National Seminar under the convenorship of Dr. Pushpa Bindal. Through our ‘PhysCom Society’, Physics Department tries to bring out the best in students. Every year society organizes workshops inviting eminent Physicists for talks and career counseling sessions from experts.Various competitions like paper presentation, poster making, scientific Rangoli and quizzes are organized time to time to inculcate innovative thinking among students and widen their horizon of imagination. Students are encouraged to prepare working models and projects in which they can realize their innovative mind skills. Dr. Rachana Kumar was also the convener of a 2-day ‘Inter College Science Fest- Vigyan Vividha’ held in January, 2014,which gave the students a platform to showcase their talents and scientific aptitude. The department has organized two workshops recently in 2014-15, 2015-16 funded by National Academy of Science, NASI.
Physics, as a subject opens a plethora of career opportunities to students in the field of education, research and industry.It is a matter of great pride that our Physics (Hons.) and Physical Science students are getting placements both in private and public sector as well as teaching in schools, colleges and polytechnics. The goal of Physics department is to nurture young talents, to focus on standards, assessment and outcomes and to ensure that all students learn in a more powerful way. We also find ways to motivate our students to scale greater heights than ever before. To achieve these goals, there is no other way but the way onwards.
 Physics is a basic science, the study of which opens a plethora of opportunities in the field of education, research and industry in the country and abroad. A teaching career in schools/ Colleges / Universities/ Engineering Institutes is a possibility. Plenty of contemporary research and innovation areas are there like Nano science,  Photonics, Material Science,Plasmonics, Thin Films, Quantum Optics, Astrophysics, Optoelectronics to mention a few. Scientific reporting/writing and communication in the field of journalism and mass media is another emerging field. A base knowledge of physics also opens opportunities in the interdisciplinary areas like Geophysics, Computational Physics, Medical Physics, and Biophysics etc. Depending on one’s interest and aptitude, a variety of courses can be undertaken:
  • M.Sc in universities like University of Delhi, IITs/NITs,JNU and other colleges
  • MCA
  • MTech followed by
  • PhD
  • For teaching in schools, B.Ed
  • For companies and finance, MBA